Head of Department
Subeshinim
Dr Subeshini Moodley
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Media and Communication
Room: 0410
Location: South Campus
Phone: (041) 504-2225
Email: Subeshini.Moodley@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Film theory, analysis and practice, postcolonial theory, feminism, diaspora, social develop, self-reflexive filmmaking, auto- and visual ethnography
Responsibilities: Teaching and supervising film studies and video production

Lecturers
Dr Hercules Fourie
Dr Hercules Fourie
Position: Principal Lecturer
Department: Media and Communication
Room: 0504
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3330
Fax: 27 41 504 9330
Email: hercules@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: B.Bibl (UOFS), B.Bibl (Hons) (UNISA), MA (UOFS), MBL (UNISA). D Phil (STELLENBOSCH)
Expertise: Applied Philosohy
Responsibilities: Lecturing

Adrian Konik
Prof Adrian Konik
Position: Professor
Department: Media and Communication
Room: 0419
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27(0)415044066
Fax: +27(0)415042229
Email: akonik@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: DLitt et Phil
Expertise: Cultural Studies, Film Studies, Philosophy
Responsibilities: Lecturing and research

Upasna Maharaj
Upasna Maharaj
Position: Associate Lecturer
Department: Media and Communication
Room: MB 0505
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 4681
Email: Upasna.Maharaj@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BA Visual Arts and Digital Arts Suma Cum Laude (UKZN), BA Hons Film Theory and Practice in the First Class (UCT), MA Media Theory and Practice (UCT) to be completed

Jude Mathurine
Mr Jude Mathurine
Position: Lecturer
Department: Media and Communication
Room: 0506
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 4524
Email: Jude.Mathurine@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NDip Journ (Tech Natal), B.Tech Journ (Tech Natal), MA (Rhodes)
Expertise: Journalism, New Media, Media Development, Media Education, Digital Publishing, Curriculum Development

Tarryn
Mrs Tarryn Rennie
Position: Lecturer
Department: Media and Communication
Room: 0407
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 (0)41 504 2908
Fax: +27 (0)41 504 2229
Email: tarryn.rennie@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: (MA) Media Studies; N Dip Graphic Design
Expertise: Visual Communication, Graphic Design, Brand Communication, Advertising, Design & Layout, Copywriting for Advertising

Jakub Siwak
Dr Jakub Siwak
Position: Lecturer
Department: Media and Communication
Room: MB 04 05
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 2236
Email: Jakub.Siwak@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: D Phil (Media Studies)
Expertise: New Media Theory, Film Theory, Post-Structuralism
Responsibilities: Research, Postgraduate Supervision, Undergraduate Lecturing

Ms. Janelle Vermaak
Dr Janelle Vermaak
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Media and Communication
Room: MB0409
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 4067
Fax: 27 41 504 2229
Email: janelle.vermaak@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MA in Applied Media
Expertise: Scriptwriting, Communication, Advertising
Responsibilities: Programme Coordinator: BA Media, Communication and Culture

Dr Janina Wozniak
Prof Janina Wozniak
Position: Associate Professor
Department: Media and Communication
Room: 0104016
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 4268
Email: Janina.Wozniak@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Ph.D. (UCT)
Expertise: International Communication, African cinema, African media, Media Ethics, Colonial literature of German colonies, German literature of the 19th and 20th century, Literature of ethnic Germans, Teaching German as a foreign language
Responsibilities: Programme co-ordinator: National Diploma in Journalism

Secretary
Faizah
Mrs Faizah Samaai
Position: Administrative Assistant
Department: Media and Communication
Room: 301A, 3rd Floor Main Building
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041-504 3791
Email: faizah.samaai@mandela.ac.za

Technical Support Staff
Mr Francois Du Plessis
Mr Francois Du Plessis
Position: Digital Video Technician
Department: Media and Communication
Room: MB 0317
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415044526
Fax: 27 41 504 2229
Email: francois.duplessis@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Nat Dip Photography

Mr. Johannes Jordaan
Mr. Johannes Jordaan
Position: Digital Video Technician
Department: Media and Communication
Location: South Campus
Email: Johannes.Jordaan@mandela.ac.za